I’m a shell, of something incomplete

Lost, in a dark and modern alleyway

Terrified to breathe, for fear of losing this feeling

Scared completely of losing this moment,

Of rare, pure sincerity and loneliness

 

I don’t want my porcelin mask back

It’s glittering surface, or it’s fitting comforts

I am an uneven, severely flawed and sinful man

But to bathe in one’s truest of being,

Is an act of the most candid redemption:

Repentance for a life squandered,

A trail of mangled opportunities, and lost love

 

I leave all my comforts and conveniences

For I admit: I am broken, deep down

And I had all but given up

 

Yet, I had once, a sort of ‘native valley’

Where I sang, and communed with great trees

A place of belonging, and of connection with my Lord

This place is not lost, but it was buried,

Within muck and self-hatred, but, with

Eyes red, and tears flowing freely

I see a dawn that accepts all that I am

And a shred of that is all I need

To keep the embers glowing

Leave a Reply

