Electric static crackling

Birds crowing loud at dawn

Sonic booms of bass,

Move the silent dew

 

I rise from a warm bed

Step onto chilly hardwood

And as I throw off my covers

I leave my dreams behind

 

With aching bones and

Heart worn down with loss

I grab my plow, and till dry soil

Hoping for a better future

 

Each day is the same,

Each feeling is fractured

It’s something I can’t explain;

It all means nothing either way

 

But in the evening, after all that

Needs chopping and dicing

I find myself content, and am

Utterly overwhelmed, by all the

Great things life has to offer

And I reconnect with myself

And feel nothing but elation

Leave a Reply

