I was in a supermarket, lights bright and harsh

Was feeling isolated, feelings sharply hung down

No ice cream or colorful display could numb me

But then everything — suddenly changed

There was a girl, well spoken and unhurried

Beneath loose powder blue pajama pants,

And a relaxed, unstructured grey shirt

Her figure was thin, and beautiful

And she was barefoot

 

I judged her at first, for her unkempt,

Mid-length black hair

For her carefree and sincere smile

Lively but effortless charm with friends

It melted all my artifice, and I needed to speak to her

But I couldn’t, and I bought my things and left

 

She changed my whole mood, and made me forget the harsh grocer

Something in me was changed

I hope I meet someone like her,

One day

Leave a Reply

